The rule states: "The catcher may not block the pathway of a runner attempting to score unless he has possession of the ball. If the catcher blocks the runner before he has the ball, the umpire may call the runner safe."
After a crew chief review, it was determined that Navarro did not violate the rule and the play was confirmed.
"Things have to be a little bit more concrete," Maddon said. "I'm all for that rule going away. I thought Navarro made a great play. Not a good play, a great play. I give the catcher credit there. Under the rules we have been told, [Forsythe] should have been awarded the play, I thought.
"It's such a vague concept. ... I don't know that you can actually define that to the point where it's crystal clear. I think it's nearly impossible. Thus, I think it's a bad rule."
Maddon had to have been happy, however, about a call that did go his club's way earlier in the game.
The Rays successfully challenged what would have been an inning-ending double play in the fifth, which kept the frame alive for Longoria.
With one out and runners on first and second, Matt Joyce hit a grounder to Blue Jays second baseman Munenori Kawasaki, who threw to shortstop Jose Reyes for the forceout at second. Reyes had to rush his throw to first in an attempt to turn two, and he one-hopped the ball over to Adam Lind, who fielded it cleanly.
Joyce was called out by first-base umpire James Hoye on the bang-bang play, which prompted Rays manager Joe Maddon to immediately come out of the dugout to issue a challenge. The call was overturned after a brief 45-second review.
Longoria came up with runners on the corners, but Toronto starter Drew Hutchison struck him out on three straight fastballs to end the inning.
Chris Toman is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.