Rays' fans racing to name All-Time 9

Rays' fans racing to name All-Time 9

BALTIMORE -- Several hot races are underway in the voting for the Rays "All-Time 9s."

More than 4.1 million votes have been cast since the 9/9/09 debut of the "All-Time 9s," a platform for fans to debate the greatest single-season performances for all 30 Major League franchises. The voting marks the start of MLB.com's Lineup Card campaign, a gathering place for the posting and never-ending discussion of the greatest past and present lineups.

Here's a look at how the Rays' closest races are shaping up:

At catcher, Rays fans are torn between John Flaherty's 1999 season and Dioner Navarro's All-Star campaign of 2008, as Flaherty currently leads by 400 votes. Carlos Pena (2007) is leading Fred McGriff (1999) and Tino Martinez (2004) by nearly 2,000 votes.

Aubrey Huff (2003), who played third base, first base, and outfield for the Rays is neck and neck with B.J. Upton ('07) while trying to catch Carl Crawford ('09) as the highest voted Rays outfielder. He currently leads by about 600 votes.

Finally, Ben Zobrist (2009) is chasing after Jorge Cantu ('05). Cantu leads by 700 votes·

Bill Chastain is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.