OAKLAND -- Rays catcher Dioner Navarro left the clubhouse Tuesday night thinking his hard-hit drive into left field went for a three-run, two-base error. He was satisfied with that.
"I just looked at the board to check the score and realized we were ahead," Navarro said. "All I wanted to do right then was go back to catching. Thanks to the lights, I got a double."
The reversal began when Rays bench coach Dave Martinez called the official scorer to ask for a second opinion.
"It's clearly defined that when a player loses the ball in the lights, it has to be a hit," Rays manager Joe Maddon said on Wednesday. "It looked from here he was trying to get under the lights and just couldn't get low enough, and the ball stayed in the lights."
The official scorer, a retired sportswriter with extensive knowledge of the rule book (he even attended umpiring school), went to the Oakland clubhouse afterward to ask A's outfielder Emil Brown about the play. When Brown told him he never saw it, the scoring change was made -- 23 minutes after the game ended.
"It's a bad feeling when that happens to you," Maddon said. "But it's good for Dioner and the appropriate call. [Joey] Devine made a good pitch and Dioner, with two strikes, put the ball in play relatively hard. He didn't strike out. He put the ball in play, and sometimes good things happen when you force the defense to make a play. I'm not a big fan of the strikeout, as you can tell."
Navarro, who knew he wouldn't play on Wednesday, joked that after hearing about the scoring change, "I was only going to have five beers, but then I made it 10."
Navarro finished the night 1-for-3 with a walk and three RBIs.
"I hit the ball hard three times," said Navarro, who now has six doubles and 16 RBI on the season.
Rick Eymer is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.