Tampa Bay BBWAA unveils award winners

Tampa Bay BBWAA unveils award winners

ST. PETERSBURG -- The Tampa Bay chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America announced the winners of its annual awards on Tuesday. Voting was done on a 5-3-1 point basis.

James Shields won the Most Valuable Player Award, receiving nine of 10 first-place votes. Evan Longoria finished second.

"It's definitely an honor for sure, compared to what happened last year, I wanted to put a stamp on this organization for what I did last year as far as my numbers go," Shields said. "I mean, I thought I pitched pretty well last year -- obviously a couple of games here and there. I wanted to be more consistent this year. And that's what I did."

Johnny Damon won the Paul C. Smith Champion Award, named in honor of the late MLB.com writer, and presented to the player who best exemplifies the spirit of true professionalism on and off the field. Shields finished second.

Jeremy Hellickson won the Outstanding Rookie Award in a unanimous vote, with Desmond Jennings finishing second.